Awards & honors

At the International Association of CyberPsychology, Training & Rehabilitation’s (iACToR) 22nd Annual CyberPsychology, CyberTherapy & Social Networking Conference (CYPSY22), awards are presented to pay tribute to individuals for their outstanding achievements. This year’s conference will feature three types of awards.

Lifetime Achievement Award

To celebrate two decades of exciting advances in cybertherapy as well as the growth of the CyberPsychology, CyberTherapy & Social Networking Conference itself, we are proud to announce the 22nd Annual CyberTherapy Lifetime Achievement Award. This award has a tradition of honoring a person who has demonstrated outstanding lifetime achievements in the fields of advanced technologies and healthcare. It is the highest honor given by our community.

All members of the CyberPsychology, CyberTherapy & Social Networking Conference Program Committee are invited to nominate one of their colleagues as a recipient of this award, which promises to honor a long line of esteemed researchers.

The 2016 recipient was Professor Jose Gutierrez-Maldonado. Past recipients include Professor Dr. Stephane Bouchard (2005), Professor Dr. Brenda K. Wiederhold (2006), Professor Dr. Giuseppe Riva (2007), Professor Dr. Cristina Botella (2008), Professor Dr. Hunter Hoffman (2009), Professor Dr. Sun I. Kim (2010), Professor Dr. Mark D. Wiederhold (2011), Professor Dr. Mariano Alcaniz (2012), Professor Richard M. Satava (2013), Professor Andrea Gaggioli (2014) and Professor Jang-Han Lee (2015). Please see the complete list of the previous years’ Lifetime Achievement Award recipients by visiting our website: This annual award is sponsored by the Interactive Media Institute (IMI).

CRC-Clinical Cyberpsychology New Investigator Award for a presentation of outstanding research quality

The aim of this prize is to reward the presentation of strong methodological studies at the CyberTherapy, CyberPsychology and Social Networking conference. The recipient must be a researcher who is new to the field of cyberpsychology. It is open to both oral / symposium or poster presentations and to researchers from all countries and disciplines.

The award is delivered by Stéphane Bouchard, chairholder of the Canada Research Chair in Clinical Cyberpsychology. It includes a certificate and a check of 1,000 $ US.

Further information about the award, including eligibility criteria and the application process are available here.

Young Minds Research Awards

To showcase outstanding achievements in a student poster submission to the CYPSY Conference, the Young Minds Research awards, sponsored by Mary Ann Liebert, Inc. publishers, are presented to those projects judged to have the greatest potential to contribute to the innovative field of cyberpsychology, cybertherapy, training, and rehabilitation.

All posters submitted by student presenters – those who have not finished their PhD program – are eligible to compete for the $250 award. Posters will be judged by the scientific chairs for scientific merit and ease of presentation.

To see the complete list of the previous Student Poster Award recipients please visit:
Winners will be presented with a cash award and certificate of achievement.